About Us | Contact Us 
Quick Links

2014 Award Winners

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2014 Talk out Loud Mental Health Awareness Awards. The Talk out Loud Mental Health Awards recognise some really fantastic work and we are so pleased to have been able to inspire schools and young people to do some truly amazing things through the Mental Health Stigma Programme. Through our judging we have seen lessons being delivered, some amazing art work created, lots of other great activities and heard about some really inspiring young people.

We have been humbled by the responsibility that young people have taken in tackling the inequalities and stigma that people with mental health needs experience. These awards have given us the opportunity to thank all of the schools who have taken part in the Mental Health Stigma Programme this year and celebrate some of the fantastic work undertaken by students here in Northamptonshire.

We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to our award sponsors Nationwide Building Society.


Talk out Loud School of the Year 
Southfield School for Girls

For the school or college that has can demonstrate how it has worked towards the key objectives of:
  • Increasing mental health awareness, drawing attention to the stigma and discrimination experienced by young people with mental health needs and challenging the negative perceptions of mental health needs.
  • Raising awareness amongst their students about mental health issues, stigma and where they can access help and support
Most Innovative Mental Health Awareness Day (secondary school)
Isebrook SEN College

Best Mental Health & Well Being Display
Bracken Leas Primary School

Most Innovative Mental Health Awareness Day (primary school)
Park Junior School, Wellingborough

Talk out Loud Young Person of the Year
Olivia Powell

For the young person that has made the most impressive contribution to the main programme objectives of reducing mental health stigma and raising awareness of mental health support.

Olivia is a member of the Young People‚Äôs Participation group, she has attended many events on behalf of the group, organised and helped deliver Mental health awareness day and made an outstanding overall contribution to Stamping out stigma.  

Poster Competition
Cerys Upstone, Olivis N, Julia K, Rachel and Georgia, Jacob Thompson, Erin Cooper, Rayhaan, Julia Sopel, Emily Watters, Megan Spies, Olivia Murrison, Lisa Jenson, Sammy Cooke and Brooke Reid.

These pupils all created posters or poems that share the MHSP message in an effective and meaningful way.

The awards form part of packed 12 month programme of activity driven by the Mental Health Stigma Programme, an initiative jointly funded by Northamptonshire County Council and the NHS.